NY Times Speaks a Dead Language

DOES ANYONE HAVE A F****** CLUE WHAT LANGUAGE THE MAJOR NEWS OUTLETS ARE SPEAKING?

I consider myself a pretty smart DUDE, therefore I find it appropriate to stay updated with the news. Granted, there’s a lot of it… so you must pick and choose which subjects you stay on top of. Don’t ask me why I would choose politics, or business. I still don’t understand either of them.

God knows I try to understand politics, and more recently, I’ve been trying to grasp the concept of the failing U.S. economy. Shouldn’t everyone? It’s asinine to worry over something you don’t fully understand. A few years ago, recession was a bad word. More recently, the one word everyone is afraid of is collapse. What does that mean? Does that mean another Depression (notice the caps lock)? I’m unsure.

What I do know is that the EU plays a bigger role in the financial crisis than I thought.I turn on the radio in my truck, and it’s NPR. Someone is frantically spelling out doom for Greece and the U.S. economy. What does Greece have to do with the U.S. economy? No clue. This calls for a news paper. And here I am, hoping to make sense of it all; I am too naive. I open a NY Times article. I can now fully appreciate the statement “ignorance is bliss.”

It has had little intrinsic connection to the American stock market in the past, as Mr. Bernstein is quick to acknowledge. But it has been a perversely contrarian signal of late. As the European rescue plan for Greece appeared at times to unravel last week, Greek 10-year notes hit new lows, falling to less than 30 percent of their nominal value — a 70 percent discount. As the price dropped, the American stock market often rose.

The distant pop you just heard was a cluster of neurotransmitters in your brain exploding. I am actually mad that I can’t understand this, or provide anyone with information regarding the crisis facing Greece (or Italy). It has come to the point where reading a biased and misleading article is more appealing (and informative) than anything else.

This brief sentence from an NPR article made the most sense to me:

(The Greeks) see the (poltical) wrangling as a shameful circus while they get poorer and poorer.

 Sounds oddly familiar…

All other news articles may as well be in Sanskrit. Any helpful hints? Books? Articles? Can you just tell me what’s going on? I really hate to say it, but I’m completely baffled by major news sources. I hate to sound like a typical conservative-doucher-conspiracist, but this is obviously a ploy used by the “got-derm” liberal media to confuse simple folk like maself and invoke irrational fear. The less I understand about the news, the more I’m afraid of it; the more news I understand the more afraid I am of everything else.

It’s a lose-lose situation.

, , ,

  1. #1 by mydrinn on November 7, 2011 - 12:52 pm

    I am in the same boat named, “Miss-information” that you are. I really do not know all the facts concerning the Global market; but this is what I do know: We, and by we I mean the entire world, is in a very bad financial spot right now. I could spout out personal opinions on “why” all day long, but that will get us nowhere. However, I tend to feel that the Greek issue has something to do with Euro and the lack of actual wealth to back up a countries (or several countries, aka EU and the US) money. America is producing money left and right, in turn this decreases the worth of our paper money on the Global market, that may be what is happening with the Euro as well. Again, I am definitely not very knowledgeable in this field, and I could throw opinions around all day. Though, I am going to save everyone’s sanity by keeping my opinions to myself until I can back them up.

    • #2 by squelsch on November 7, 2011 - 9:29 pm

      I hear some very good posts and comments on this website about news articles and certain things that are going on around the country. They are worded well, and they are interesting; but where the hell do these people get this information? Reading blogs and news becomes a game of trust.
      From what I know, U.S. banks have invested in Greek banks, and because our economy is suffering, so is theirs. Greece and the U.S. want a bailout from E.U. (or maybe the Federal Reserve, or maybe both) so that Greece isn’t out on it’s ass, along with more U.S. banks. That’s all I can really get out of it.
      Who knows. I think tomorrow there will be a vote as to what Greece is going to do.

Leave a Reply

