Change Mongering

SO I HAVE BEEN GETTING BACK INTO THE HABIT OF WRITING.

I haven’t been blogging as often as I should, I know. Mainly because the news is becoming a serious drag. I would like to make sense of it all, but people are going to take it their own way anyway. Journaling thoughts and events has been taking precedence.

I watched the news the other night, Gaddafi handcuffed and beaten, being strung up to the hood of a small rebel pick-up truck. The Revolution is over. Or at least, the glory of the revolution is, anyway. Who’s next?

It’s weird to see those things on TV. I always liked to imagine what it would be like to live in the colonial era. When monarchs were beheaded in front of the public. With the internet, and the handy portability of a video recorder on just about ANY cell phone, these public executions are available to the entire world. AWESOME.

I don’t approve of his death, but I definitely don’t disapprove of it either. He shares one thing in common with the people he fought: bleeding out on the street.

I must hand it to the Libyans. They are a psychotic bunch. Inventive too. Their tactics (in politics and military) are brutal too. I thought about that today, as I walked past West Lake, Seattle, today. I noticed most the Occupy protesters were gone by this point. Just a few ragged looking people shouting something belligerent. Disturbing the peace.

Nobody left West Lake with their innards dragging behind them though. And I guess that is the measure of a succesful protest in America. The less entrails, the better. Not for the Arabs though, and I envy them for that much.

Libya’s the only thing in the news that really catches my attention now. Everything else is just shocker news. Mothers selling their daughters virginity on the internet. People on Welfare refusing to take drug tests (really?). Boring, and slightly disgusting.

What next for Libya?

Is Libya the new Afghanistan? (I don’t mean Afghanistan in the sense that it is a war instead of a country.) Will it become a Somalia? A lawless territory disputed amongst warlords and corporate interests? Or will the name Libya usher in a new political process. One of people first, and one of progress, and action.

Or maybe those kinds of thoughts can be considered un-American and I’d be better off just rooting for the home-team. The hope that humanity can prevail without politics is something I share in common with the many anarchists attending the OWS protests. But there is no way anyone can be taken seriously as an anarchist. Which is why that idea is doomed to failure (just the way the anarchists want it to).

I hate to sound cliché, but times they are a changin’. Current events reveal a world that scream for it. Me and one of my good friends have had this conversation before: is the world really changing? There is a straight answer for that one: Yes. But hasn’t it always been changing?: Yes. Will the things that are happening now make any difference to how we live?

I’m rambling, I know, but what difference does todays change make on yesterdays? Or am I too young to understand? There’s too many questions, and I hate to share them without the answers.

With that, I’ll leave this alone. Adieu.

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by liveunfolded on November 2, 2011 - 4:10 am

    I think change is always happening but they have been small and mostly in the wrong direction (too much government in our lives, not enough personal responsiblity, politics for politicians and not the people, etc). I think to have real change, we need more people to actually want change and not just pay it lip service. OWS movements got the dialogue started but it is waning since they failed to have an agenda but it isn’t dead, even in the snow the Occupy Boston folks are there in full force (still no agenda). I don’t have the answer (yet) but I do know if you and I stop talking about it, so will other people, and so on and so on. Squeaking wheels get the grease, at least that is what I am told!

Leave a Reply

