Everyone is Gay

I’VE HAD THOSE NIRVANA LYRICS IN MY HEAD FOR A WHILE.

For brevity’s sake, and for clarity (and also becasue it’s 3 a.m.), I’ll get right to it.

I read “Letter From Birmingham Jail” the other day, as part of an English assignment, and also because of MLK day on Monday. Students are usually force fed this kind of stuff in college, especially since it’s practically a ┬áseasonal thing. I found the letter extremely compelling and I urge EVERYONE to take a look at it. It’s written extremely well and defines the struggle for civil rights in America in the 60s.

… I share this becasue of a recent “debate” I took part in, regarding the homosexual community. A bill is on the floor in Seattle right now to approve sam sex marriage. The outcome, I could care less about to be honest (although it is expected to fail just shy of a couple votes). There are plenty of gay people in Seattle who seem perfectly content as things are. The question that arose, is whether the gay rights hold as much weight as black rights? Again, read the letter from MLK, it’s amazing. Do his words still ring true today?

Granted they should be the same thing for all good Americans. But does one outweigh the other? I would like to hear from you.

(Sorry for not posting in so long. School is… school. I’ll make a point of it this weekend!)

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Live Unfolded on January 14, 2012 - 6:12 am

    My two cents: equality is equality no matter race, ethnicity, sexual preference etc. Heterosexual couples don’t do well with the “institution of marriage” so I am not sure we have a foot to stand on when it comes to telling other people what their rights should be. My other penny – noone’s rights should infringe on anyone else’s – if we could just stop legislating every aspect of life, maybe we could achieve that.

  2. #2 by squelsch on January 14, 2012 - 11:34 pm

    There is definitely the question of morality in this debate. I think that because many people see homosexuality as immoral, they give leverage to their movement as being just.
    Sen Joe Blow can appeal to so many people and tell them he doesn’t believe it’s right, but his argument may as well be based off the Old Testament. Just because it makes others uncomfortable, is not enough reason to exclude them from equality. There needs to be hard facts to argue. I think the rights of African Americans was a larger issue, and more important – but I don’t mean to belittle anyone’s civil rights by saying that.

    • #3 by Live Unfolded on January 15, 2012 - 7:11 am

      I think it is hard to compare African American issues with homosexual issues, especially since a lot of the rhetoric is faith based. Also, I imagine same-sex marriage issues likely have a lot of special interest groups attention since the laws impact things like insurance coverage – areas that impact big business’ bottom line. In terms of societal acceptance, well, both groups have come a long way but there are still pockets in our society that can’t see beyond skin color and sexual preference.

      • #4 by squelsch on January 16, 2012 - 5:08 pm

        Thanks for the comment. You make a good point that most don’t look at, regarding the financial and insurance institutions and their impact on gay marriage. I do think that there is more and mroe equality given to gay people. But, I guess, in my own opinion, their cause may not be as great as the African American’s. The only thing I disagree with is the faith based “rhetoric.” Because when it comes to civil rights, faith is always at stake. Today is MLK day, and he used his knowledge of the bible to persuade his challengers. Likewise, I bet there was faith based argument against him, just as their is against the gay community.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

